Clark County

Clark County


Clark County is home to the cities of Dubois and Spencer. Clark County was established on February 1, 1919. It was partitioned from Fremont County. It was named for the State Senator Sam K. Clark, an early pioneer on Medicine Lodge Creek.


Parks and Recreation -  If you are looking for a wild west experience, the area offers several working ranches where you can "get down and dirty" with cowboys and ranch hands. If camping is your thing there's plenty of room and nearby attractions make it a base for your day trips to Monida or porcupine pass, Solider's grave or the Lost Gold Trails Byway. For recreationalists, portions of the Caribou-Targhee National Forest begins in Clark County and consumes much of Eastern Idaho offering views of black bears, wolves, elk, moose, mule deer, bison and mountain lions. Cutthroat trout, brook trout and pike are found in the streams of the forest and overall the forest is considered one of the best fishing areas in the world for cutthroat trout.

Living - With less than 1 person per square mile, the 1765 square mile county offers freedom from crowds, traffic, and congestion and a place be yourself. Clark County has chosen to honor and celebrate the legacy of the cowboys and cowgirls and the impact they have made in American History. Dubois holds the Idaho's National Day of the Cowboy Celebration.

Schools - Clark County has 1 school that houses k-12 grades.

Contact Information

Photo of Tony Stallings Real Estate
Tony Stallings
Edge Real Estate
38 S 2nd E
Rexburg ID 83440
Mobile: 208-681-2145
Office: 208-356-6331
Fax: 208-656-9402